Culture

Wow, I haven’t written in such a long time but now, here I am and there is one thing that I am quite inspired about today. And that is culture.

Culture is quite an amazing thing. It’s complex, unifying, excluding as well as many other things. Today I asked myself “What is my culture?”. I have asked this question many times before but today I have actually gone into a lot of detail about it. Maybe it’s because I’ve been trying hard to find out who I am at the moment.

I think that it’s important to know where you originated to know who you are. I also think it’s just as important as knowing that who you are is who you want to be and that your roots do not determine everything about you.

My process started out when I asked a fellow student what she was eating. When she answered (she is Greek by the way) she told me that it is a dish that she has for those that have passed on. I have always been fascinated by her culture and her cultural practises and today this just opened up a world of doors for me.

I started wondering who I am and where my family came from. My father’s side, I have no clue as he was adopted. My mother does not know her side either. So here I am as a white english South African who wonders about her roots.

I brought this conversation up with my friends and together we realised that there aren’t many South African english cultural practises. It is a culture but, to me, it feels like a culture that mixes South African culture as well as Western culture. Now I find a lot of potential in that as a culture because I feel it can unite everyone in South Africa under one roof. It is a culture that pretty much all South African fit under. Everything classified as a part of english South African culture falls under another South African culture whether it be Afrikaans, Zulu or Xhosa culture.

I have a belief that one day in the far, far future that there will not be different cultures. That there will only be one culture that everyone is a part of. I do not believe it will be a culture that we have today, it may be combinations of cultures with a vast array of cultural practises. And just like it is today, people will practise while some people will not. It will be a choice people make and decide to be a part of. The South African english culture is currently still being built and created. I say this because this is what I wish to do.

I wish to find my culture, the culture that is true to my ancestry’s blood. Once I know that, I wish to learn as much as I can about that culture. With that knowledge in mind I will mix it in with who I am as a white english South African. And that will be my culture. I’m sure many people who feel this way in their own cultures have done so and may do so. This is how I see culture becoming. Changing to define who they are instead of culture only defining them.

I would love to hear whatever comments anybody may have, even if its an argument against what I have said. I want to have a conversation with you about it and broaden my own knowledge. Ask, write, leave a comment, argue, do anything as long as you reply.

Leave a Reply

